Why I Admire Hillary Clinton

It’s now very clear all the stories you come to learn about the human struggle for respect in our history are not mere footnotes to be discarded, this is the slow progress of human evolution. Evolving as you know doesn’t occur overnight. The eyons of time that is needed for the changes to take hold for a better understanding of fellow man is just at its cusp. Humanity’s ability to cast out their selfish nature and embrace  its global consciousness will determine the plight of the human cause.

I was born at a time and place to people who didn’t treat me differently due to my race, gender or social class. So I didn’t grow up understanding that women are not able to persue their life goals the same way a man can. And that lead me in life to places and situations I never would have been if not for that indiscriminate life I was brought up in. I did not know any better until I started my journey in the world of man. I learnt that women are not treated as equals, women are not allowed to do as they please, religions run by men have dictated their own agenda to keep a woman in her rightful place, that men dictated how you should dress, be and how she takes care of her own body. Until I experienced the real world in its true nature I did not realize I am a second class citizen and I will never be granted my rightful freedom as a mere human to be the best person I could be. This I believed all trough out my childhood as the only way to be. Thankfully my wonderful parents never made me feel inferior because of my gender and even now I am blessed with a husband who doesn’t dictate to me about how to be a woman in a mans world. I feel blessed but saddened at the plight of my fellow women who were not given the same opportunities just merely because they were born a woman. We tend to forget the plight of others when we have been blessed with so many chances to live freely, most women I think still are in the grips of sexist society where they will never know what it is to be born free to think, be and live as an equal to a man. This is a crying shame and I always think if I had a daughter I would not make her feel inferior due to her gender or put any of my unnecessary expectations on her. 

I finally come to the point I want to get across. Hilary Clinton came from a background just like many of us women seeing her mothers struggle and was lucky enough to have the ability to attend the best schools and achieve the ability to run for president against a number of men inferior to her in knowledge and achievement but nevertheless she persisted. She never was given any position easily, she fought for every ounce of success, the many enemies she accumulated in her career made it their mission to see her fail but nevertheless she persisted. You may say any other qualified and successful woman wouldn’t be treated the way she was, I disagree. Any woman trying to prove their equal ability in a mans world will go through a similar attack and in my opinion only a woman who is willing to fight and only a woman as qualified has the chance  to be recognized as a truly great president. Any woman trying to achieve this feat is a super woman and has to be at least 200%more qualified than a man to become the president of USA. There is a long way to go for women to be taken seriously but at least there was one who tried and failed because they are apparently “poorly educated”and extremely sexist(this category includes women unfortunately)I am honored in my lifetime there was a strong woman leader showing how it’s done even through failure because if a woman can’t accept defeat they have already lost their battle against a rigged system.

THE MAN IN THE ARENA                                          Excerpt from the speech “Citizenship In A Republic”

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. 
Hillary Clinton’s commencement speech at Wellesley
Divided We Stand: The Battle Over Women’s Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie J. Spruill

Leave a Reply

